Any one make bows from IPE any pics

How to make a Bow, a String or a Set of Arrows. Making equipment & tools for use in Traditional Archery and Bowhunting.

Moderator: Moderators

Cody Roiter

Any one make bows from IPE any pics

#1 Post by Cody Roiter » Wed Apr 15, 2009 8:29 am

G-day mates, I been making some bows from IPE and wanted to know how many of u guys have made or make bows from this wood.... I also back it with bamboo....

Take Care Mate's,

Cody
Cody Roiter

pdccr

Re: Any one make bows from IPE any pics

#2 Post by pdccr » Wed Apr 15, 2009 10:08 am

I'm no expert but i dont know if alot of IPE grows in australia, i have read about it on TBB but i havnt heard of someone actually using it. They could import it of course. Maybe there is a different name over here and we use it alot... im clueless actually :lol:
Cheers, Toby

pdccr

#3 Post by pdccr » Wed Apr 15, 2009 10:44 am

I think we might call it Ironbark, not sure. Search it on the forum, ichi and otis look like they know a bit.
Cheers, Toby

ichiban

#4 Post by ichiban » Wed Apr 15, 2009 2:26 pm

i dont belive ipe is grows in aus, and if you where going to import timber for me persoanly ipe wouldnt be on the list how ever i understand it makes a nice bow but so do some aussie trees
Im gonna make it bend and break-Fall Out Boy

Cody Roiter

#5 Post by Cody Roiter » Wed Apr 15, 2009 3:10 pm

Thank Mate's.....

I just wanted to know if any one makes bows from it what kinds of woods do u all use for bowmaking...

G-day Mate's,

Cody
Cody Roiter

TomMcDonald

#6 Post by TomMcDonald » Wed Apr 15, 2009 3:11 pm

I know someone in America making Ipe-backed Osage longbows. He reckons they're goddamned fast (in his words).
Tom

Sometimes the simplest things are the most profound.

www.billygoatbowstrings.com

longbowinfected

#7 Post by longbowinfected » Wed Apr 15, 2009 5:22 pm

Ipe is mainly grown in Southern and Central America as well as in the Caribbean.
There are a number of species.