The Experiment...

How to make a Bow, a String or a Set of Arrows. Making equipment & tools for use in Traditional Archery and Bowhunting.

Moderator: Moderators

hunterguy1991

The Experiment...

#1 Post by hunterguy1991 » Sun Nov 09, 2014 3:55 pm

Experiment Title : Linen backed English Warbow

Background information:

After a bit of research into some commonly used timbers in English warbows and into material properties of these timbers the choice of Brazilian Teak was made as a test subject. It was cheap ($15 for a board) and seemed suitable with a high crushing strength, MoE and MoR...

The design utilised was a combination of one provided to me by Dennis (see other threads of mine for details) and also some small things I noticed when making my own warbows previously. My 115lb bow has a tip thickness measurement half that of the handle (I'm an engineer and cant help but measure things as I'm making them), as did the other warbows I have made which pulled a nice circular curve, bending through the entire length.

Linen was selected for a backing for 3 reasons. Firslty, I ran out of hickory strips (bugger!!), secondly I wanted to keep the price and availability of materials to a minimum and lastly, I wanted to see if the linen can hold up on the back of a high draw weight bow.

Hypothesis: A linen backing on a warbow has sufficient strength to withstand failure and Brazilian Teak has sufficient material properties to be used in such a bow of over 120lbs draw weight.

Method:

Construct the bow using tools available.

Dimensions on rough shaping: total length 82", 80" nock to nock.
handle width: 38mm
handle thickness: 30mm
tip thickness/width: 16mm (1mm to allow for tillering)

Note: handle thickness was achieved by ripping a 89mm wide x 19mm thick board in 2 and gluing it together to double the thickness and then trimmed to desired measurement (another little test in the bow's design)