HEAT; Wet or Dry For Bending Timber.

How to make a Bow, a String or a Set of Arrows. Making equipment & tools for use in Traditional Archery and Bowhunting.

Moderator: Moderators

greybeard
Supporter
Supporter

HEAT; Wet or Dry For Bending Timber.

#1 Post by greybeard » Tue Jul 08, 2014 4:23 pm

Although I have been using wet heat [steam] in my bow making for many years I recently used dry heat [heat gun] to remove the propeller twist in the limbs of a flat bow.

I was surprised at how little time it took to complete the task, probably about fifteen minutes to do both limbs.

Steam takes considerably longer, after getting a good head of steam, depending on the timber and its cross section dimensions it can take up to an hour or more for the timber to be pliable enough to bend and not raise splinters.

The following link is to a short video showing how easy it is to use dry heat and the only tools needed are a few clamps.

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=2GerQcfYrGo

You will notice that vegetable type oil is applied to the area to aid in heat penetration.

A FEW WORDS OF WARNING; do not use OILS of any description if you have subsequent gluing applications to carry out in or near the heat treated area.

It is for this very reason I use steam when making my bamboo backed bows.

Daryl.
"And you must not stick for a groat or twelvepence more than another man would give, if it be a good bow.
For a good bow twice paid for, is better than an ill bow once broken.
[Ascham]

“If a cluttered desk is a sign of a cluttered mind, of what, then, is an empty desk a sign?” [Einstein]

I am old enough to make my own decisions....Just not young enough to remember what I decided!....

cmoore

Re: HEAT; Wet or Dry For Bending Timber.

#2 Post by cmoore » Tue Jul 08, 2014 11:23 pm