Chinese Elm and Set

How to make a Bow, a String or a Set of Arrows. Making equipment & tools for use in Traditional Archery and Bowhunting.

Moderator: Moderators

hunterguy1991

Chinese Elm and Set

#1 Post by hunterguy1991 » Fri Apr 11, 2014 9:15 am

G'day guys,

Just a couple of questions a have come up with over the last few weeks.

Firstly, I have a friend that will be acquiring some lengths of Chinese elm in the next couple of weeks. I have heard that Elm does make nice bows and is used in the US, however I have no experience with Chinese Elm and wanted to know if anyone here has any experience in using it for self bows... From what I have read it can be used but wanted to know if anyone has first hand experience.

Secondly, I have been shooting a longbow I made a while back, made of spotted gum board, backed with Linen and have noticed it has taken a little more set than I would like. This got me thinking as to why set occurs... Since timber is stronger in tension than compression ( not always significantly though), I have concluded that set occurs from the belly timber being too weak or over stressed, but my engineering mind keeps telling me to think about it further... What do you all think is the cause of set and how could it be reduced?

I may consult a structural lecture on the matter and get their opinion on the topic.

Straight Shooting,

Colin

hunterguy1991

Re: Chinese Elm and Set

#2 Post by hunterguy1991 » Sat Apr 12, 2014 5:30 pm

Next question,

Has anyone tried black wattle for a self bow? I got a stave off a mate today and its nice and straight...

Was going to just strip the bark and use the sap as the back and see what happens...

Thoughts?

Colin

bigbob

#3 Post by bigbob » Sat Apr 12, 2014 5:52 pm