Phenolic or linen micarta

How to make a Bow, a String or a Set of Arrows. Making equipment & tools for use in Traditional Archery and Bowhunting.

Moderator: Moderators

bigbob

Phenolic or linen micarta

#1 Post by bigbob » Mon Nov 21, 2011 1:32 pm

This info is not a product of my febrile mind but courtesy of tradgang site in US.I had some small amount of smooth-on left in some tins. Not enough for a bow but a bit small for much else when I happened on the following on the arforementioned site.Any one making a bow will know how expensive materials are getting, not the least phenolic for trim pieces. This is my first attempt and rendered me a servicable strip first up, albiet it is linen micarta rather than phenolic as it uses specific glues. It still has a bit of cling wrap stuck to it and will need a light pass through my lam grinder to clean it up.Simply all thats needed is some strips of cloth in the required colour/s, and width, bearing in mind they will be a little darker on completion.Next 2 strips of smooth level board and some clamps.Wrap each board with cling wrap and lay the first strip on one board, coat the strip liberally with smooth-on [or similar] then just layer each strip on the previous to the required thickness. there is no need in this instance to coat both sides as the glue will penetrate. Once all glued place the other cling wrapped board on top and clamping with as many metal clamps as possible .Bang in hotbox for couple hours, cool and clean.Voila! Will save heaps and best is you choose the colours you want.
I trimmed one side in bandsaw for effects.
Attachments
012.JPG
012.JPG (194.49 KiB) Viewed 2228 times
010.JPG
010.JPG (164.29 KiB) Viewed 2228 times
nil illigitimo in desperandum carborundum
razorbows.com

Stickbow Hunter
Supporter
Supporter

Re: Phenolic or linen micarta

#2 Post by Stickbow Hunter » Mon Nov 21, 2011 2:29 pm