first stave, Spotted gum

Where to source materials etc. Also the place to show off your new bow or quiver etc.... Making things belongs in Traditional Crafts.

Moderator: Moderators

DrAK DaRippa

first stave, Spotted gum

#1 Post by DrAK DaRippa » Tue Apr 15, 2014 9:34 pm

this is my first attempt at cutting out a whole stave. i've been very excited to try it and have air dried this log until it wouldn't lose weight for a month or two and now it's ready to be hacked at. i used wedges to split it, as i've decided this can be an exercise in hand tools(as i'm quite a novice), i've recently got a draw knife but no draw horse, so i'm kinda struggling to use it effectively, even though it's not quite time to be using it, i'm still machete shaping the sides.

the right split of the log was very clean and i hope to use it as a backing for something else one day.
lower on the limb on the left side was cut, but even still has a few knots. unfortunately one big knot in the middle of each limb. they are the only real flaws that i'll have to try to tiller around carefully.

at the moment i'm trying to correct this snaking that the stave does along it's length.
i've read that leaving some snaking is ok, but i'd still like it to be looking even before i reduce the belly

as for what it's supposed to look like, well i'm thinking of a flatbow design because i presume it's easier.
i've been thinking about trying to glue sinew on the back to insure the knots a little, but i'll worry about that when it's ready for tillering

it's about 68" in length too, i figure it'll be less working stress on the limbs if it's longer
Attachments
DSC_0105.jpg
DSC_0105.jpg (164.38 KiB) Viewed 1639 times
DSC_0119.jpg
DSC_0119.jpg (152.79 KiB) Viewed 1639 times
DSC_0118.jpg
DSC_0118.jpg (165.93 KiB) Viewed 1639 times

greybeard
Supporter
Supporter

Re: first stave, Spotted gum

#2 Post by greybeard » Wed Apr 16, 2014 2:50 pm

DrAK