Alaskan saying G'day

General discussions. Politics, scuttlebutt, whatever: you're getting married, changing jobs, got a gripe or a compliment, dying to get out with the bow etc.....

Moderator: Moderators

Steve H.

Alaskan saying G'day

#1 Post by Steve H. » Mon May 15, 2006 3:35 am

So G'day. I haven't been down under yet but I'll get there, NZ too. Great site here. I surfed in once in the past but spent a bit of time here yesterday and liked what I saw.

Lived in the mid-west and high-plains but in our Great State now. Favorites are the mountain critters, mtn goats and sheep and spend a bit of time with the bears too, both black and brown. Lots of other critters too including caribou, and tropical island critters too similar to OZ critters, etc.

Shoot self-made laminated longbows and Ribbies on my "timbers" and occassionally a selfbow. I've been shooting Ribbies for about 10 years now.

Anyhow, I have this spot bookmarked now!

Glenn Newell

#2 Post by Glenn Newell » Mon May 15, 2006 6:16 am

Welcome Steve, glad to see you found your way down here. Would like to see photos of the bows you make and game you hunt...Glenn...

Steve H.

#3 Post by Steve H. » Mon May 15, 2006 7:09 am

Glenn,

Actually I met you briefly at MOJAM in 2000. You may actually have even "touched" some MOJO into the osage stave I wat whittlin on at the time. I have arrowed a big boar black bear and a whitetail doe with that bow and have taken her on two brown bear hunts with REALLY close calls.

Hmm, I'll have to see if I can figure out how to post a picture here.

Lets try an Aleutian Islands caribou for starters.

Tuffcity

#4 Post by Tuffcity » Mon May 15, 2006 8:12 am

Hey Steve,

Welcome aboard! This board has some good entertainment value too- especially once you learn the language. :D

RC
That which doesn't kill me better run for cover...

aussiehunter

#5 Post by aussiehunter » Mon May 15, 2006 8:38 am